Newsletter 2005
Language Honor Societies Induct New Members
On Sunday, February 27, 2005, the members of the Phi Sigma Iota, the International Foreign Language Honor Society for Spanish and French, gathered in the Hoffman House along with professors, family and friends to induct new members in both Phi Sigma Iota and Dobro Slovo, the Slavic Honor Society. It was evident from the preparation, the work involved, and the large number of people who attended how important this acknowledgement is. Beth Drew, the President of the Lambda Chapter of Phi Sigma Iota says, “It was wonderful to see the parents supporting their children. It is fabulous to see so many people taking an interest in another language.” Inductees were selected based on their overall academic success and particularly for their distinction in one or more foreign language. These students understand the importance of incorporating languages and cultures into their studies: this is good, as those who study a foreign language do better in their studies overall. 2005 has been declared the year of languages, and the month of February is International month, the month to celebrate travel to other countries. These talented students are ready to do just that!
--Rebecca Rosenau ‘06

Dobro Slovo

Dr. Luba Iskold, faculty sponsor
welcomed new members:

Matthew Jakubik
Rachel A. Courtney
Aaron N. Solomon

Phi Sigma Iota
Dr. Erika M. Sutherland, faculty sponsor, and Phi Sigma Iota members Beth Drew (President), Stephanie Krauss (Vice-President), Rebecca Rosenau (Secretary), Alberic Rogman, Michelle Sartor, Toni Scott, and Bonnie Silberbogen welcomed new members.
in French
Nadine Goldman
Caitlin Meehan
Chelsea Meenan
in Spanish
Stacey Artman
Amy Bornholdt*
Kelly Byrne
Lauren Carballo
Amy Colaguori
Allison Huth
Sonia Kelton
Ashley Kramer
Jennifer Kuhn
Jessica Lauer
Maura Lynch *
Christina Oakes
Amy Schmidt *
Michelle Silacci
Lauren Teixeira
Adrienne Verbich *
Laurie Waldron
*: inducted in absentia