Athletics: Men's Basketball

image image


In 107 years of competition dating back to 1900, Muhlenberg has

Centennial Conference Standings, 1994-2014
School W-L Pct
Franklin & Marshall 246-82 .750
Johns Hopkins 205-123 .625
Gettysburg 199-129 .607
MUHLENBERG 188-140 .573
Ursinus 181-147 .552
Dickinson 143-185 .436
Washington 141-187 .430
Haverford 129-199 .393
McDaniel 117-211 .357
Swarthmore   91-237 .277
a record of 1225-1079-1, making it one of a select group of Division III schools with 1,200 all-time wins.

The small school exploded onto the national basketball scene in the mid-1940s by making three consecutive appearances in the National Invitation Tournament — at the time the biggest postseason college basketball tournament — at Madison Square Garden, finishing fourth in 1946. The Mules won four consecutive Middle Atlantic Conference North titles from 1946-50 and three MAC South titles from 1968-70.

In 10 years of divisional play in the Centennial Conference, Muhlenberg won or shared the East Division title eight times, winning the Conference championship in 1995 and 1998. The Mules’ recent streak of 21 consecutive years with double digits in wins (1983-2003) tied the longest for a men’s team in the College’s athletic history, matched only by the 21-year string of the men's basketball teams from 1939-59.