Athletics: Football

image image


Football was Muhlenberg’s first official varsity sport, debuting in Muhlenberg football 1900, and has had two periods of extraordinary achievement: one in the mid-1940s and one today.

The Mules won the mythical small college championship in 1946, defeating St. Bonaventure in the Tobacco Bowl at Lexington, Kentucky, to wrap up a 9-1 season. Muhlenberg duplicated that record the following year, losing only to Temple by a single point, but turned down an invitation to the Tangerine Bowl (the forerunner of today’s Capital One/Florida Citrus Bowl). The coach for those two great teams was

Centennial Conference
Standings, 2000-2013
School W-L Pct
Johns Hopkins 79-24 .767
MUHLENBERG 73-30 .709
Dickinson 55-48 .534
Ursinus 51-52 .495
Franklin & Marshall 48-55 .466
Gettysburg 45-58 .437
McDaniel 42-61 .408
Moravian 24-36 .400
Susquehanna 12-24 .333
Swarthmore 2-5 .286
Juniata 11-49 .183
football Hall-of-Famer Ben Schwartzwalder, who went on to coach legends such as Jim Brown and Ernie Davis at Syracuse.

The current Mules have earned 10 postseason berths in the last 14 seasons, including five straight from 2000 to 2004. In 2002, Muhlenberg reached double digits in wins for the first time in program history and advanced to the second round of the NCAAs.

The 2007 team was the first to go undefeated in program history, winning the Centennial Conference championship outright, setting a school record with 11 wins and earning a national top-10 ranking. In 2008, Muhlenberg repeated as CC champion and rose to No. 2 in one national poll.

In all, the Mules have won or tied for seven CC titles in the last 13 years. In a conference known for competitive balance, Muhlenberg has won more than 70 percent of its league games since 2000.

The sport’s storied history includes nine Centennial Conference championships, one ECAC championship, 27 All-Americans and 16 Academic All-Americans.