Athletics: Men's Soccer

image image


Muhlenberg men's soccer has an enviable history that includes 14 NCAA Tournament bids (including a trip to the semifinals in 1995), five Centennial Conference championships, two Middle Atlantic Conference championships, three ECAC South championships and five MAC South championships.

In the 46 years of competition since 1967, the Mules have compiled a remarkable record of 525-236-66 (.675).

Centennial Conference
Standings, 1993-2013
School W-L-T Pct
Johns Hopkins 144-30-15 .802
MUHLENBERG 131-45-13 .728
Gettysburg 115-56-18 .656
Franklin & Marshall 93-74-22 .550
Dickinson 94-80-15 .537
Swarthmore 80-97-12 .455
Haverford 61-110-18 .370
McDaniel 55-116-17 .338
Washington 56-118-15 .336
Ursinus 38-141-9 .226
They have finished first or second in their conference (or division) in all but eight seasons since 1987.

Muhlenberg first enjoyed great success in the early 1970s, going 64-16-7 during a six-year span, winning its first MAC championship in 1972 and capturing back-to-back ECAC South titles in 1974 and 1975.

After several lean years, the program took off again in 1986 with the arrival of Head Coach Jeff Tipping, who went on to become director of coaching for the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The Mules set a national record for consecutive shutouts (13) in 1988 and handed NCAA champion Elizabethtown two of its three losses in 1989.

In 1994, Muhlenberg began a run of three CC championships in four years. The 1995 squad advanced to the NCAA "Final Four" before getting eliminated by eventual national champion Williams on penalty kicks.

Twice in the mid-1990s, the Mules received the NSCAA Team Academic Award for having a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The Mules put together their third undefeated and second perfect CC season in 2003 and reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Muhlenberg has produced four Academic All-Americans, 13 All-Americans, 56 all-region players and 180 all-conference players (including eight conference players of the year) in its proud history.