Muhlenberg College
Mule logo
2000 Fall Sports Update

Click on the Mule to return to the athletics home page

Fall Honor Roll
<<< Last Week of Fall   |   First Week of Winter >>>

Junior Joshua Carter and senior Alissa Desiderio have been selected as All-Americans and Centennial Conference players of the year in their respective sports.

Carter was named to the the Hewlett-Packard Division III All-America football first team Joshua Carter and the first team as a kick returner for the second straight year. He is the first two-time All-American in the 99-season history of Muhlenberg football. Carter shared CC offensive player of the year honors with Western Maryland quarterback Jamie “Boo” Harris. He is the first Muhlenberg player to be named player of the year in the 18 seasons of the Centennial Conference.

Carter ranked among the Division III leaders in all-purpose yards (2,031; third), kickoff returns (28.2; 10th), punt returns (13.4; 17th) and receiving yards per game (104.1; 18th). He also scored 15 touchdowns. Carter was on the All-CC first team as both a wide receiver and kick returner and was one of a record 14 Mules named to the All-CC team.

Joining Carter on the Hewlett-Packard All-America team were senior cornerback Mike Burke (third team) and senior offensive tackle John Schoeller (honorable mention). Burke received honorable mention from The Mules had two All-Americans three times previously in their history, most recently in 1988, but never three.

Alissa Desiderio Burke was one of four players in Division III to average at least one interception per game. His nine picks tied a school record set in 1942, and he also led the team with 11 pass breakups to go along with 43 tackles. Schoeller helped pave the way for an offense that averaged 427.8 yards and 31.1 points per game and was the biggest player on a line that allowed only six sacks to the Mules’ starting quarterbacks. He also was selected to the Division III All-Star that represented the United States in the Aztec Bowl in Merida, Mexico, on December 16.

Desiderio was the first player in the 10-year history of the Muhlenberg women’s soccer program to achieve All-America status. She was named to the third team as a midfielder by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. She also was the first Mule to earn CC player of the year honors. Desiderio was second on the CC champs with nine goals, six of which were game-winners, including the lone score in the Mules’ title-clinching 1-0 shutout of Ursinus. This was her second time on the All-CC team but her first as a midfielder; she earned honorable mention as a sweeper in 1998.


Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll
Laura Garland
Katie Garrett
Robin Holden
Laura Roth
Kristin Tylenda

All-Mideast Region
Brendan Gallagher

Freshman All-Mideast Region
Diana Garretto (second team)
Rob Uniszkiewicz (second team)

All-Centennial Conference
Brendan Gallagher (second team)
Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll
Melissa Eicken
Kristin George
Kelly Gower
Kerry Lambert
Meghan Repka
Amy Yalch

All-South Region
Carole Caine (first team)
Kerry Lambert (second team)

All-Centennial Conference
Carole Caine (first team)
Kerry Lambert (first team)
Kelly Gower (second team)
Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll
Ron DeBiasse
Michael Dickinson
Wes Spence

Joshua Carter (Hewlett Packard first team)
— ( first team)
— (Football Gazette second team)
Mike Burke (Football Gazette second team)
— (Hewlett Packard third team)
— ( honorable mention)
John Schoeller (Football Gazette third team)
— (Hewlett Packard honorable mention)

All-South Region
Mike Burke (first team)
Joshua Carter (first team)
John Schoeller (first team)

ECAC Southwest All-Star
Joshua Carter (first team)
John Schoeller (first team)
Mike Burke (honorable mention)

All-Centennial Conference
Joshua Carter (offensive player of the year)
Mike Burke (first team)
Doug Folger (first team)
David Jones (first team)
John Schoeller (first team)
Michael McCabe (second team)
Mwaura Muroki (second team)
Chuck Richard (second team)
Anthony Wolfsohn (second team)
Jordan Wright (second team)
James Barski (honorable mention)
Beau Sherry (honorable mention)
Nick Tranguch (honorable mention)
Ian Ximinies (honorable mention)
Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll
Kevin Disch
Tom Hartey
Brad Kocher
Scott Lermack
Chris Rowley
David Vassilaros
Kevin Welding

All-Centennial Conference
Dave Paxson (first team)
Justin Marx (honorable mention)
Rob Pomento (honorable mention)
Greg Ramos (honorable mention)
Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll
Pamela Campbell
Nancy Grove
Kim Laurino
Jen Sands
Jennie Vroman
Michele Zito

Alissa Desiderio (third team)

All-Mid Atlantic Region
Alissa Desiderio (first team)

All-Centennial Conference
Alissa Desiderio (player of the year)
Dawn Iberer (first team)
Nancy Grove (second team)
Kim Laurino (second team)
Jen Sands (second team)
Katy Hawkins (honorable mention)
Jennie Vroman (honorable mention)
All-Centennial Conference
Meaghan Billie (second team)

Questions or comments? Send mail to

Last updated January 8, 2001