Muhlenberg College

Allentown, Pa.
Mule Sports
Daily Mule logo
Monday, November 18, 2002
Fall Scoreboard  |   Winter Scoreboard
<< October  |   November 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  |   December >>

A weekly look at what’s going on in the Centennial Conference:

Field Hockey

CC champion McDaniel won its first NCAA Tournament game, blanking Notre Dame (Md.), 6-0, but the Green Terror (19-4) had its season ended by top-seeded Rowan, 4-1, in the Round of 16.


Four teams that Muhlenberg played this year earned ECAC bids: McDaniel will host Moravian in the Southeast championship game; Johns Hopkins travels to Frostburg State for the Southwest championship; and Kings Point hosts Wilkes for the South Atlantic title.

Women’s Soccer

Johns Hopkins (14-6-2) suffered a 1-0 loss to Stevens Tech in the first round of the NCAA Tournament ... Franklin & Marshall (15-3-2) won the ECAC Tournament, defeating LaRoche and Widener. McDaniel also received a bid but was defeated by Widener in the first round.

Men’s Soccer

Johns Hopkins (17-3) was eliminated by Messiah, 1-0, in the first round of the NCAA Tournament ... Dickinson was the lone CC school to earn an ECAC bid, falling to Lebanon Valley, 3-0, in the first round.


Gettysburg (24-14) went 1-1 in the NCAA Tournament, outlasting Frostburg State in five games before getting swept by Juniata in the regional semifinals ... Franklin & Marshall fell to Westminster in five games in an ECAC semifinal.


Senior quarterback Justin Jones of the Muhlenberg College football team has been voted Centennial Conference offensive Justin Jones player of the year by the league’s coaches. He was one of 17 Mules named to the All-CC team, one of eight on the first team.

Jones (right) led Muhlenberg (9-1) to a three-way tie for the CC championship by leading the league in passing yards (1,807), passing touchdowns (16), passing efficiency (136.78) and total offense yards (1,894). He also scored six touchdowns on the ground to tie for fourth in the CC. Jones is the second Muhlenberg player to earn player-of-the-year honors, following in the footsteps of Joshua Carter, who shared the title in 2000.

All but two of the Mules’ eight first-team selections were unanimous picks, and two were repeat choices from last year: Junior Matt Bernardo was voted in at running back after rushing for 1,165 yards and leading the CC in touchdowns (18) and all-purpose yards (1,733). Senior Beau Sherry, the team’s leader with 78 tackles and four fumble recoveries, earned his Tyler Cathey second straight first-team honor at linebacker.

Moving up from the second-team honors they earned in 2001 were seniors Chris Reed and Tyler Cathey. Reed led all CC kickers with 85 points and a conference-record 15 field goals, while Cathey (left) recorded nine tackles for loss, including five sacks, from his defensive line position.

Rounding out the Mules’ first-teamers are junior tight end Chris
Radomski Rob Sherman (16 receptions), junior offensive tackle Chris Radomski (right) and junior kick returner Kodi Shay (11.0 yards per punt return).

Shay, who leads Muhlenberg with 40 receptions, also made the second team as a wide receiver. Joining him on the second-team offense were three seniors who were repeat selections: Alfredo Mercuri (wide receiver, 24 receptions, second team in 2001); Justin Hurlburt (center, second team); and John Blankenhagen (offensive tackle, honorable mention).

Three defensive backs accounted for half of the six members of the Mule defense who made the second team: junior rover Dan Miller (67 tackles); junior free safety Thanasis Petrakis (38 tackles, four interceptions); and senior cornerback Jordan Wright (39 tackles, four interceptions). Wright was a second-team selection last year as well.

Also honored on the second-team defense were senior linemen Mike Koth (11 tackles for loss) and Jon Buglione (5½ sacks) and junior linebacker Tony Briscella (69 tackles).

Questions or comments? Send mail to
Last updated November 18, 2002