Muhlenberg College

Allentown, Pa.
Mule Sports
Daily Mule logo
Sunday, November 20, 2005
Fall Scoreboard |   Winter Scoreboard
<< October 31 |   November 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  28  29  30  |   December 1 >>


As part of Scotty Wood Weekend festivities, five individuals and one team were inducted into the Muhlenberg College Athletic Hall of Fame.

Dennis Adams ’94 was an appropriate inductee during the Scotty Wood Tournament. The only three-time MVP in the tournament’s 24-year history, Adams is the second-leading scorer in Muhlenberg men’s basketball history with 1,638 career points. He also ranks second on the program’s all-time lists with 629 field goals made and 158 steals. The team’s leading scorer three of his four seasons, Adams was a first-team all-conference selection three straight years and was
Hall of Fame Class of 2005
The Muhlenberg College Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2005: Dennis Adams, Tim Averell, Richard McGee, Sarah Clarke-Mismer, Wilson Hendricks (represented by his cousin, Pete Sell) and the 1946 football team (represented by Carl Reimer).
first-team all-region as a junior and senior.

Tim Averell ’96 was the top scorer on some of the top men’s soccer teams in Muhlenberg history. He finished his career with 49 goals and 110 points (fourth all-time in both categories). In 1995, Averell was a first-team All-American, Centennial Conference player of the year and co-captain of a team that reached the NCAA semifinals. He earned first-team all-conference honors three years in a row and first-team all-region honors twice. During Averell’s career, the Mules went 60-14-6 and won two CC championships.

Sarah Clarke-Mismer ’99 was a sparkplug at point guard for the successful women’s basketball teams of the late 1990s. She earned all-conference honors four straight years and graduated as the Mules’ all-time leader in assists (406), three-pointers (220) and free-throw percentage (.807). She is third on the all-time scoring list with 1,054 points. The first player in team history to record 100 assists in a season, Clarke-Mismer did it three years in a row, leading Muhlenberg to back-to-back Centennial Conference championships in 1997 and 1998.

Richard McGee ’50 started at center for Muhlenberg men’s basketball teams that went 74-25 and won four consecutive MAC North championships and two MAC crowns. The second 1,000-point scorer in school history, he notched 1,042 points during his career and was the team’s second-leading scorer in three of his four seasons. McGee is credited with controlling the boards as a freshman in the 1947 MAC title game against La Salle, helping the Mules to a 45-41 win, and was regarded as a stabilizing presence on the court and excellent passer out of the post.

The late Wilson Hendricks was inducted as an honorary member. A Muhlenberg College Athletic Hall of Fame beloved member of the equipment room staff from 1981 to 2004, Hendricks had the longest continuous tenure of any Muhlenberg employee at the time of his untimely death in the summer of 2004. He won the Scotty Wood Tournament Community Service Award in 2002.

A recent amendment to the Hall of Fame bylaws allowed teams to be inducted. The first squad to earn the honor was the 1946 football team. Muhlenberg went 9-1 in 1946, setting a school record for wins that would last for more than 50 years, and earned a bid to the Tobacco Bowl in Lexington, Ky., where it defeated St. Bonaventure, 26-25. Coached by Ben Schwartzwalder, who went on to an exceptional career at Syracuse, the Mules defeated the likes of Lafayette, Bucknell and Lehigh and were ranked as high as 19th in all of college football. Running the single-wing offense, they outscored opponents 307-99, shutting out three teams, and set school records that still stand with 569 rushing yards and 690 total yards in the 39-0 whitewash of Albright.

Questions or comments? Send mail to
Last updated November 20, 2005