The Edwin W. Miller Awards in Writing were established by Edwin Miller’s wife, Lillian Krumholz Miller, in honor of her late husband. Edwin Miller was a publisher and editor who founded POB Publishing Company, and its namesake monthly magazine, POB (Point of Beginning). The company also published technical and historical books in the field of surveying, mapping, and engineering. He was a life-long supporter of higher education and the arts, but his passion was editing. In honor of his fifty years in the editing and publishing field, this writing award will, in a small way, continue his passion: supporting writers and their work.

Winners in 2020:

Award for Excellence in Creative Writing (awarded to a senior creative writing minor)

Taylor Garrison

Poetry Winners 

Judged by Jason Koo // Grant Scott & Eduardo Olid

1st: Hailey McMichael

2nd: Taylor Garrison

3rd: Katie Behling & Morgan Tietz

Honorable Mention: Maxwell Marcus & Arielle Moss

Fiction Winners

Judged by Derek Green // Francesca Coppa & Irene Chien

1st: Hannah Betz

2nd: Jessica Bensimhon

3rd: Michaela Colahan

Honorable Mention: Desmond Reifsnyder, Lauren Silverstein, & Natalie Trachtman

Nonfiction Winners

Judged by Tessa Fontaine // Jill Stephen & Frederick Wright Jones

1st: Kate Ekanem & Caya Greenspan-Layman

2nd: Hannah Betz & Emily Drake

3rd: Asa Miller

Honorable Mention: Paul Giandinoto

Drama Winners

Judged by Richard Dresser // Tom Cartelli & Amy Corbin

1st: Patrick Daly

2nd: Michaela Colahan

3rd: Sofia Barone & Alana Noehrenberg

Honorable Mention: Alison Cummins & Haley Hnatuk