Political Science Student Conference Presentations & Prestigious Awards

Student Research Presentations:

Nicole Baltzer ’17, Megan Lafayette ’17, Jake Solari ’17, and Trevor Waldron ’17 presented a paper at the Campus Sustainability Conference at Lehigh University in February, 2016 entitled, “Environmental Opinions at Muhlenberg College”.

The following students presented papers at the 77th Annual Meeting of the Pennsylvania Political Science Association at Shippensburg University, April, 2016:

Daniel Cojocaru ’17 presented a paper entitled “European Union – Russian Relations, and the Places of Future Impact.”

Maggie Emge ’18 presented a paper entitled “Islamic Radicalization in Chechnya.”

Andrew Loewy ’17 presented a paper entitled “Russia’s Put’in Energy Resources for Political and Economic Gain has its Limitations.”

The following students presented at the 13th Annual Social Research Social Justice Conference at Muhlenberg College on April 8, 2016:

Matthew Dacher presented a paper entitled “The Deception of Development: How NGOs Undermine State Capacity and Growth.”

Jeff Funk presented his paper entitled “Managing Fat Stigma in Everyday Life.”

Asa Saidman presented a paper entitled “The Causes, Consequences and Actions of Discrimination in Russia.”

Isaac Shimsky-Agosto presented “The Integration of Russian Minority Populations in the Baltic States.”

Nicole Baltzer ’17 presented “Gender & Elections: Elite Media Coverage of Hillary Clinton’s Early 2016 Presidential Campaign” at the 21st Annual Undergraduate Women’s and Gender Studies Conference on April 9, 2016 at DeSales University. Nicole will present further analysis at the Northeast Political Science Association Conference this fall.

Alexa Potter ’16 presetned “Domestic Violence in Morocco: A Collection of Narratives” at the 21st Annual Undergraduate Women’s and Gender Studies Conference on April 9, 2016 at DeSales University.


Political Science and International Studies Honor Awards:

Molly Albano ’17, Nicole Baltzer ’17, and Masheed Mahjor ’17 each received the President’s Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement and Promise for Postgraduate Work by a Junior.

Christian Balodis ’17 received the Harry A. Benfer Memorial Scholarship Award, as well as the President’s Award.

Andrew Berdahl ’17 received a student summer research grant.

Erin Bohmiller ’16 received the James W. and Barbara H. Herrick Award, as well as the Phi Sigma Iota Award in French. Erin was also inducted into Phi Beta Kappa.

Susanne Boss ’17 received a student summer research grant.

Chayoot Chengsupanimit ’16 received the Kurt M. Thiede Prize.

Gabriela De Frutos ’16 received the Russell B. Everett Romance Language Award.

Kaitlin Errickson ’17 was awarded the Dr. John J. Reed Scholarship.

Mahsheed Mahjor ’17 received the Carol Emhardt Kuntzleman Memorial Award.

Sydney Saltzman ’16 received the Dr. Charles S. Bednar Award in Political Science.

Isaac E. Shimsky-Agosto ’16 received the Citizen Exchange Council Award in Russian Studies.