Raoul Wallenberg was a Swedish diplomat who saved tens of thousands of Budapest Jews from the Nazis during the last year of WWII. He was taken into Soviet custody just days after Budapest was liberated and was never again accounted for by Western sources; some Soviet reports put his death in 1947 in a Moscow prison.

Each year since 1984, Muhlenberg College and the IJCU have paid tribute to his courageous moral action on behalf of others with a public presentation by a significant scholar or public figure. Since the Institute’s inception in 1989, the event has included the honoring each year of one or more local individuals who are recognized for their courageous moral action on behalf of others.

Beginning in 2004, the Jeanette Eichenwald Interfaith Award has been presented to one or more Muhlenberg College students who have been active in interfaith understanding. The Wallenberg Dinner is a key fund-raising fixture for the IJCU; individuals, congregations, companies and organizations have the opportunity to attend, to sponsor tables and to make contributions in the name of Wallenberg and the annual honorees.

The 2018 Wallenberg Tribute will be held on Sunday, October 14th.

Contact us at or 484-664-3470 for details.

Past Honorees:

1992 Ira Born
1993 Dr. Darrell Jodock
1994 The Rev. Harold S. Weiss and Irvin J. Borowsky
1995 Dr. Eugene J. Fisher
1996 Drs. Alice & Roy Eckardt
1997 The Rev. Edward Flannery
1998 Joseph & Rita Scheller
1999 The Rev. Dr. William P. Barker
2000 Bernard Frank, Esq. and Dr. Jonathan Tenzer
2001 Arthur R. & Kathryn P. Taylor
2002 Jeanette Eichenwald
2003 Jeanette & William Seaman
2004 The Rev. Dr. Franklin Sherman
2005 Alvin Mishkin
2006 The Rev. Dr. John Reumann
2007 Cerf & Lee Berkley and Ralph & Roberta Longsworth
2008 The Rev. Daniel Gambet
2009 Patty Carlis
2010 The Rev. Christine Nelson
2011 Rabbi Dr. Irving R. Greenberg
2012 The Rev. Dr. Walter Wagner
2013 Ilene Wood
2014 25th Anniversary Celebration (no honorees)
2015 Alan Jennings
2016 Rabbi Allen Juda
2017 Rabbi Ambassadaor David N. Saperstein