M U H L E N B E R G    M A G A Z I N E S U M M E R    2 0 0 2

Commencement 2002
(continued from page 22)

Faculty Awards and Recognition
The Paul C. Empie Award
Dr. Scott Sherk, associate professor of art
The Donald and Anne Shire Teaching Professorship
Dr. Jack Gambino, associate professor of political science
The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award
Dr. Larry Hass, associate professor of philosophy

Honorary degrees
Frances Moore Lappe, Doctorate of Humanities

Heidi B. Neumark, Doctorate of Divinity

Bob Schieffer,
Doctorate of Humane Letters

William J. Small,
Doctorate of Humanities

Elliot J. Sussman, M.D., Doctorate in Science

Ervin J. Rokke,
Doctorate of Laws


""        ""
Hunger activist and author Frances Moore Lappe speaks to the crowd.
Candace Raio

""            ""
Danielle Lehman
Nkechinyere Ngumezi

A group of students pose before the ceremony.

""  ""

Arthur Taylor congratulates Dr. Jack Gambino on winning the Shire Teaching Professorship
Scott Sherk, Curtis Dretsch and Arthur Taylor

previous page CONTENTS next page