‘Berg Hosts "A Transatlantic Town Hall"

Panel discussants include Rep. Charlie Dent, The Hon. Peer Steinbrück and The Hon. Reinhard Bütikofer

Tue, 02 Sep 2014 13:18:00 EDT

Muhlenberg College will host the Congressional Study Group on Germany’s 31st Annual Congress-Bundestag Seminar, “A Transatlantic Town Hall: Regional Security Cooperation, Energy Policy and Trade” on Monday, September 15, 2014 at 3:00 p.m. in the Seegers Union Event Space. This event is free and open to the public. A press conference will follow.

Featured discussants are:

Photo for TransAtlantic Town Hall

Rep. Charlie Dent (PA-15), U.S. House of Representatives
Co-Chair, The Congressional Study Group on Germany

Photo for TransAtlantic Town Hall

The Hon. Peer Steinbrück MdB (SPD), German Parliament
Chairman, German-U.S. Parliamentary Friendship Group

Image courtesy of http://www.peer-steinbrueck.de/

Photo for TransAtlantic Town Hall

The Hon. Reinhard Bütikofer MEP (The Greens), European Parliament
Member, Delegation for Relations with the United States

Image courtesy of http://reinhardbuetikofer.eu/


Muhlenberg’s President Randy Helm will offer opening remarks, and the forum will be moderated by Dr. Chris Borick, associate professor of political science and director of the Institute of Public Opinion.

Charlie Dent was first sworn in to the United States House of Representatives in January 2005. He represents Pennsylvania’s 15th District, which includes all or parts of Berks, Dauphin, Lebanon, Lehigh, and Northampton counties. Congressman Dent, a life-long Lehigh Valley resident, currently serves on two House committees: Appropriations and Ethics.

Peer Steinbrück currently serves as Chairman of the German-US Parliamentary Friendship Group. He has been a Member of the German Bundestag since 2009. From 2005 to 2009, Steinbrück was the Federal Minister for Finance.

On the state level in North Rhine-Westphalia, he served as the Minister President, Finance Minister, and Minister for Economic Affairs and Small Business, Technology, and Transportation. Before joining the North Rhine-Westphalia administration, Steinbrück was the Minister for Economics, Technology, and Transportation in the federal state of Schleswig-Holstein from 1990 to 1992.

Steinbrück is a member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and a substitute member of the Committee on the Affairs of the European Union.

Reinhard Bütikofer is Co-Chair of the European Green Party (EGP) and a Member of the European Parliament for the German Greens. He is a member of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy and a substitute member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs as well as the Subcommittee on Security and Defense. He sits on the Delegation for Relations with the United States as well as the Delegation for Relations with China.

From 2002 until 2008 Mr. Bütikofer was the national party chairman of the German Green Party. He was secretary general from 1998 until 2002. Prior to that he was the state chairman of the Green Party in Baden-Württemberg. He served as a member of the Baden-Württemberg state parliament from 1988 until 1996. His career with the Green Party began when he was elected to the city council of Heidelberg in 1984.