Baer Awarded NCAA Scholarship

Monday, July 2, 2012

Michael Baer When it came to schoolwork, there was no hibernating for this Baer.

Recent Muhlenberg graduate and track and field captain Michael Baer won his latest and biggest academic honor when he was awarded an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

The NCAA annually awards 174 postgraduate scholarships of $7,500 each to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated.

Muhlenberg’s NCAA
Postgraduate Scholarship Winners
year name sport
1973 Ed Salo Football
1976 Eric Butler Football
1976 Glenn Salo Basketball
1978 Mark Stull Football
1981 Art Scavone Football
1982 Becky Zuurbier Basketball
1991 Mike Hoffman Football
1991 Elaine Gratrix Softball
2003 David Vassilaros Soccer
2006 Jason Finkelstein Track & Field
2006 Amy Schmidt Tennis
2007 Matt Loesch Wrestling
2007 Nicole Washburn Softball
2011 Bobby Torphy Cross Country
2012 Michael Baer Track & Field
Baer earned one of 29 given to male athletes in all three divisions who participated in spring sports.

Baer, who graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a biochemistry major and as one of the valedictorians of the Class of 2012 in May, won Centennial Conference gold medals with 4x400 indoor relay teams in both 2011 and 2012. He placed in top five in the decathlon at the CC Outdoor Championships three straight years, with a high of fourth in 2011, and also placed in CC meets in the high jump and high hurdles.

On the Mules’ all-time performance lists, Baer ranks third in the decathlon and eighth in the 55 hurdles. He will attend medical school at the University of Pennsylvania this fall.

Baer is the 15th NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient in Muhlenberg history, and this is the second straight year that a member of the track and field program has received one. Recently, Baer was named a first-team Academic All-American.