Three Seniors Honored on All-CC Men's Lax Team

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Doug Rheiner Three seniors on the Muhlenberg men’s lacrosse team were selected to the All-Centennial Conference team.

Midfielder Doug Rheiner was named to the first team, faceoff specialist Ian Jones earned second-team honors, and defenseman Ian de Ruiter received honorable mention.

Ian Jones Rheiner (left) moved up to the first team after earning honorable mention last year. He is the sixth Mule to be voted to the first team since Muhlenberg joined the CC for men’s lacrosse in 2003.

Rheiner led the Mules and is tied for sixth in the CC with 31 goals, the second-highest single-season total in program history. He set a school record with eight hat tricks on the season and added 10 assists and 38 ground balls.

Rheiner finished his career sixth on Muhlenberg’s all-time list with 69 career goals.

Ian de Ruiter Jones (above right) gave the Mules a faceoff specialist on the All-CC team for the third year in a row. He is third in the CC in faceoff winning percentage (.592) and tops the league in ground balls per game (8.73 – good for 16th in Division III).

Jones set school records for faceoffs won in a season (174) and career (339, shattering the old mark by 99) and ground balls in a season (131) and career (238). He also finished his career with 12 points on seven goals and five assists.

De Ruiter (below right) was captain of the Muhlenberg defense and picked up 45 ground balls, most on the team by anyone other than Jones. In the CC, de Ruiter’s 3.00 ground balls per game tied for sixth among non-specialists. He also was third on the Mules with 15 caused turnovers.

A three-year starter, de Ruiter finished his career 11th on the program’s all-time list with 112 ground balls.

Muhlenberg finished the season with a 6-9 record, a four-win improvement from 2012, and defeated two teams (Susquehanna and St. Mary’s) that are in the NCAA Tournament. The three all-conference selections tied for the second-most in program history.
Click here for the complete all-conference team.