Three Mules Earn Centennial Conference Honors

Monday, March 31, 2014

Heather Porrini Three Muhlenberg athletes earned weekly Centennial Conference honors.

Junior Heather Porrini was selected as softball pitcher of the week, senior Kelly Kline was named softball player of the week, and senior Kaitlyn McCaffrey was tabbed women’s lacrosse defensive player of the week.

Porrini (right) pitched a two-hitter over five innings for her first career shutout in the Muhlenberg’s 10-0 win in the nightcap of the Swarthmore doubleheader. She struck out four and allowed only one runner past first base.

For the season, Porrini is 5-1 with a 2.58 ERA.

Kelly Kline Kline (left), honored for the seventh time in her career, reached base in seven of eight plate appearances in the Mules’ doubleheader sweep of Swarthmore, going 4-for-5 with a home run, four runs scored, three RBI and three walks. She broke open a scoreless tie in the fifth inning of the opener with a solo home run and had a walk and RBI single in a 10-run inning in the nightcap. Her OPS in the two games was 2.275.

Kline leads the CC with a .579 batting average and has a .692 on-base percentage.

The softball team (12-2 overall) tied the school record for best CC start (4-0) with its sweep of the Garnet. The Mules, who were 4-0 in both 1994 and 1997 but have never been 5-0, have doubleheaders against 2013 CC playoff qualifiers Haverford, McDaniel and Washington on the schedule this week.

Kaitlyn McCaffrey McCaffrey (right) recorded 10 ground balls, seven caused turnovers and five draw controls in a 1-1 week for the Mules. She had four ground balls to lead a Muhlenberg defense that held Albright to one first-half goal in a 17-5 win, and she added a game-high six ground balls and a career-high six caused turnovers in a 15-13 loss to No. 6 Gettysburg.

McCaffrey leads the CC with 23 caused turnovers.

Muhlenberg, which received votes in the newly released Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association national poll, has two huge home games against 2013 CC playoff qualifiers Haverford and Washington, both of whom have also received votes this year, on the schedule this week.