Football Players Honored at Banquet

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - page 2

  Johnathan Charles

Michael Daniel

Terrence Dandridge

Dan Deighan

Ian Gimbar

  Joe Hogh

Spencer Kane

Andrew Kincaid

Jeremey Thomas

Isaiah Vaughn

On Sunday, the Muhlenberg football team held its end-of-the-season banquet and presented its annual awards, as follows:

“Dig In” Award – Dan Deighan
Awarded to a player who sets a good example by working hard every day for the betterment of the team.
A four-year starting quarterback and two-year captain, Deighan also was an All-Centennial Conference punter and spent time at wide receiver during his career. He set the school record for rushing yards by a quarterback and was only the third QB in CC history to throw for 5,000 yards and rush for 1,200.

Bianco Award – Terrence Dandridge
Awarded to the most valuable Muhlenberg player of the Moravian game.
Dandridge rushed for 185 yards and three touchdowns in the 45-7 win.

Rookie of the Year (offensive) – Andrew Kincaid
It is extremely rare for a freshman to start on the offensive line from Day One, but Kincaid did just that at left guard and helped the Mules average more than 30 points and 400 yards per game in the regular season.

Rookie of the Year (defensive) – Jeremey Thomas
Although he lettered as a special teams player in 2011, Thomas had a breakout season as a sophomore, starting at nickel and finishing fifth on the team with 50 tackles, including 9½ for loss (second on the team).

Most Improved Player (offensive) – Spencer Kane
A JV player for his first three seasons, Kane won the starting job at center in the preseason and held it for the entire year, anchoring an offensive line that allowed only 16 sacks in 11 games.

Most Improved Player (defensive) – Johnathan Charles
Charles, a junior, began the season on the third string but ended up starting the final seven games at nose tackle, making 19 tackles (5½ for loss) and picking off a pass against Moravian.

Scholar Athlete – Michael Daniel
A double major in accounting and finance, Daniel played in seven games as a kickoff specialist.

Mulvihill Award – Terrence Dandridge
Awarded to the “most courageous” player, in memory of Vincent Mulvihill ’80.
Dandridge rushed for 1,054 yards as a senior and finished his career third on the Mules’ all-time list with 3,368 career rushing yards.

Special Forces MVP – Joe Hogh
The junior fullback and tight end made four tackles on special teams and returned a blocked punt for a touchdown against Johns Hopkins.

Offensive MVP – Isaiah Vaughn
The senior speedster averaged 21.0 yards on 41 receptions and 24.8 yards on 17 kickoff returns, scoring a total of seven touchdowns.

Defensive MVP – Ian Gimbar
The sophomore linebacker set a school record with 14½ sacks en route to earning first-team All-CC and third-team all-region honors.

Player’s Player – Dan Deighan
The most valuable player, as decided upon by a team vote. In addition to athletic performance, the spirit of the award encompasses qualities of leadership, loyalty and support of teammates.
Deighan compiled a career record of 22-12 as starting quarterback.

The Mules finished the 2012 season with a record of 8-3 and earned a bid to the ECAC South Atlantic Bowl – their ninth postseason berth in 13 seasons.