The President's Committee on Sustainability

The President's Committee on Sustainability aims to provide leadership to the Muhlenberg community in support of the College’s strategic goals of sustainability and good environmental citizenship.

The Committee was created in 2003 by President Helm to examine, propose and monitor sustainability efforts, reduce resource use and promote dialogue on- and off-campus. President Williams reinforced the Committee's charge in 2015. The Committee is composed of faculty, staff and student representatives. Current members include:

  • Kent Dyer, Chief Business Officer & Treasurer, Co-Chair
  • Richard Niesenbaum, Director of Sustainability Studies and Professor of Biology, Co-Chair
  • Morgan Tietz, Sustainability Specialist
  • Kammie Takahashi, Faculty, Religion Studies
  • Rita Chesterton, Faculty Innovation & Entrepreneurial Studies
  • Ranajoy Ray-Chaudhuri, Faculty, Economics
  • Jim Bolton, Director of Plant Operations
  • Brett Fulton, Assistant Director of Plant Operations
  • Mike Becker, Trades and Systems Manager
  • Katie Shelley, Associate Director of Housing Operations
  • Kristine Yahna Todaro, Director of News & Media Relations
  • Peter Stark, Operations Manager, Muhlenberg Dining, ex-Officio
  • Jeanette Castillo, Student