The Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching

Description | Recipients

The Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching is established through a generous endowment provided by Joel and Ruth Spira to recognize, reward and inspire excellence in teaching within and beyond the confines of the traditional classroom by supporting superior performance in undergraduate research instruction. A monetary award is made to the faculty member’s department for the acquisition of books, journals, or other materials in the honoree’s field that will enhance teaching.  This provides a lasting benefit not only to the honoree, but also to his or her colleagues and to our students.

Recipients (present - 2009)

  • 2015 — Charles Richter, Theatre and Dance
  • 2014 — Paula Irwin, Accounting, Business, Economics, and Finance
  • 2013 — Jill Stephen, English
  • 2012 — Richard Niesenbaum, Biology
  • 2011 — Michael Carbone, Education
  • 2010 — Karen Dearborn, Theatre and Dance
  • 2009 — Laura Edelman, Psychology
Address Muhlenberg College Office of the Provost College Center, 3rd Floor 2400 Chew Street Allentown, PA 18104